Food Waste Friday–August 3rd, 2012

I’ve been looking at FrugalGirl’s Food Waste Friday posts for a while now, and I always thought they were casually interesting. This is the first time I’ve taken a photo of my food waste, and I have to say it’s pretty gross.

We put our leftovers into old peanut butter containers. They’re clear with twist on lids, ’nuff said. The stuff on the left is a bit of kale soup. It is still okay and won’t be wasted if I eat it in the next couple days. The middle jar is half a half gallon of pears. I pureed them and put them in the cockpot with some sugar. If they turn into tasty pear butter, we’ll eat them on pancakes, otherwise they will get the boot.
The jar on the right is Miss 14-year-old’s fault. She whipped up a batch of “corn pie” without realizing we were out of eggs. We bought eggs later that day, but she had decided that corn pie was a gross idea, and she didn’t know why she had thought it would be good, and she didn’t want to waste eggs in it. So she put it into the fridge. Hmm.
So corn pie is toast. Pretty good day over all.And now that I have those pictures to dread taking, I bet I get better about eating up what we have. Now what to do with the spaghetti squash in there . . .

FoodWasteFriday

What do you say?

