So Long, So-Long Summer

I’m gearing up for the new school year. Which sort of feels like getting ready to get back to the real world. How does that work, I wonder?

Here’s my guess: I don’t think I’m getting enough done. Partly this is my type-A tendencies and anxiety over where my kids are academically, but there are also a very few things that I planned to do this summer that have not yet been done.

This is cramping my summer calm. So here are two things we’ve been missing out on so far this summer.



We haven’t slept outside. Not one single time. Yeah, I kind of dread this on, with a one-year-old. But I believe it should be done if at all possible in the name of childhood memories.

Another yet-to-be-finished project is the famous “pillowcase dress” I found a tutorial at Simply Modern Mom, but I’m going to try to leave off the bias tape. (I’m hoping it will end up looking like step 8.) With girls this cute, though, how can we not end up adorable!

To end on a positive note, we have been to the drive-in several times. The Avengers and Madagascar were fantastic and Brave. We love our local American Dream drive-in.

Is there something you have yet to accomplish this summer? Or maybe something you’ve done phenomenally well at, and you’d like to brag? Remeber it ENJOY it while you do it!

2 thoughts on “So Long, So-Long Summer

  1. Oh Kelly… I love reading your thoughts! You guys should all camp out one night before it gets too cold. :). And those pillowcase dresses are so adorable! And why does summer have to go? I'm never ready to say goodbye to summer. I want it to stay…I could totally handle the 80 and 90 degree weather for the rest of my life. 🙂

What do you say?

