What brought me to blogging . . .

This is the story and essay that finally made me take the plunge into the world of blogging.

What might I miss if I put money problems ahead of my life?

 

Waiting for the Other Shoe to Drop: On expecting good through misfortune

By Kelly Kellett

I’ve head life compared to a lot of things. A few years ago I compared it to a many flavored sundae. I must have been feeling giddy with optimism. Lately I’ve been laboring under a more negative perspective. A couple nights ago we had a water emergency. My life was in danger for a handful of minutes. I inserted myself arms first, diving position, into the outdoor water culvert and was stuck torso down in a pipe where both shoulders touched either side. Desperation had driven me to an ill-thought, panic-stricken attempt to shut off the main water to our apartment. Anxiety attacks even now as I retell the tale.

And I spent yesterday in a clinging-by-a-thread haze. My mantras varied at points. I kept a steady chant that was mostly encouraging, but sometimes blackened into self-pity and downright tragic. I’m glad the powers that be don’t listen to the black speech, for I have verbalized an ending to my worldly woes more times that I care to remember. Or at least internally monologued them.

I was glad to be alive, and thankful for my family. But as the damages were assessed I felt the special stomach-pit swirl that comes from impeding financial doom. Today I have a bit of hope returning, and a bit of perspective. Finances come and go, but family is forever. Or perhaps I should say, “finances go and go,” since I’ve never mastered the art of making money. I’ve seen it done, and I know it can happen, in theory.

Toward evening, the adage “waiting for the other shoe to drop” came to mind. Negative events often leave us with a wary eye out for impending trouble. But then the adage did a marvelous flip flop in my mind. It turned around and upside down, and I realized that a shoe is a good thing. I should be expectant as a child on Christmas Eve as I wait for my proverbial shoe to drop!

If I embrace this new perspective, I could change my life. If everyone embraced my little epiphany, it would change our world. People would begin to expect good things to happen, and they would project goodwill. Statistics say that children roughly maintain throughout their lives the socio-economic levels they grew up in. My children would likely be more prosperous if their father and I managed to improve our situation. A sense of goodwill and confidence in the positive things which are coming my way will keep me working toward them. It is when we lose faith in the possibility of a thing that we stop working to bring it about.

So I’m thankful for my harrowing water experience now in hindsight because it is serving as a reminder that all of life is not bad. I had grown numb to what bad could be and like a grumbling child dragging his feet on the walk to school, I had started seeing only the dim side of my current life and my prospects. Emergency sirens have stirred my sluggish sleep walk and I’m marching once again with a purpose and armed with expectations that I can advance. There is work to be done. I’ll seize my next opportunity as soon as that next wonder-filled shoe drops down for me.

Whole in which I could have met my demise.

What do you say?

