I Heart Food Co-ops

I have belonged to a food co-op for a couple years now. I highly recommend this as a way to get good fresh food less expensively. Two and a half years ago, I was searching for a way I could afford more fruits and vegetables for my family. This information was a godsend.

 

There are a lot of different types of co-ops. And some go by a label other than co-op. I’ve heard of farms that deliver a weekly basket, and I know there are people around here who take orders for specific harvests, i.e. peaches, then they drive down and pick it up for everybody.

 

My co-op, Bountiful Baskets, ships a truck load of produce up every two weeks, and I and other volunteers divvy up said produce and sign it out to the participants. Participation is on a bi-weekly basis, and if you don’t want it, you just don’t go online and order it.

 

I like this set-up because I have nothing to do with the money. What a relief. We have great volunteers; several people come regularly, others once in a great while. I love working with people who are happy to help and happy to see the tantalizing fruit and veggies.

 

We don’t get to pick individual items. It’s made up of whatever is seasonal, available and affordable at the time. This has helped us to try new foods and new recipes. And most of my kids, I have one hold-out, have developed a broader taste for various vegetables. They’ve always liked fruit so no change there.

 

No matter how it works, or what the options are in your area, it’s worth checking out these alternatives to conventional shopping. Ask around, or try a web search. There may be more options than you realize. Or maybe you can bring a new co-op into town.

I received no compensation from Bountiful Baskets. I just think they’re great.

 

What do you say?

