12 Weeks of Christmas Treats–Gingerbread Cookies

Have you noticed the Christmas countdowns? Yes, they’ve already begun. Meal Planning Magic is once again hosting their phenomenal blog hop: 12 Weeks of Christmas Treats, formerly known as 12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies.

It wasn’t hard to choose a first post for this event. Sweet, spicy gingerbread. Mm-mmm. After all, nothing says “Christmas is coming” to me or my kids like gingerbread cookies.

Here in Wyoming September can be warm and autumn-y some years, but winter is cold and it could take a flying leap and avalanche onto us at any time! Yeah, once the football season starts, there are no guarantees of leisurely leaf changes, or sunny Indian summers.

One of my I-hate-winter-and-here-it-comes coping mechanisms is to start looking forward to Christmas right away. As soon as my precious tots can claim their first fall chill, they start clamoring for hot cocoa. The second subject of supplication is to bake gingerbread men.

Sadly for my blessed babes, I really hate rolling dough, but fortunately I love gingerbread. We don’t always make the men, but no matter what the size of shape, this taste bud tingling treat is hard to beat.

Nothing says “Christmas is coming” like gingerbread.

Gingerbread Cookies½ cup margarine
½ cup sugar
1 egg
1 cup dark molasses
½ teaspoon salt
½ Tablespoon baking soda
½ Tablespoon cinnamon
½ Tablespoon ginger
¼ teaspoon cloves
2 ½ cups flour

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cream butter and sugar. Blend in eggs. Blend in molasses, salt, baking soda and spices. Put down the mixer and stir in flour. Drop by spoonfuls onto an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake approximately 10 minutes depending on cookie size. This dough can be chilled, rolled and cookie-cut if desired.

If you want to tone down the flavor, you can replace the molasses with syrup. That tames it in a hurry. I’m going to try a bit of cayenne or white pepper in my next batch. Woohoo!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

22 thoughts on “12 Weeks of Christmas Treats–Gingerbread Cookies

  1. I used to live in Wyoming until two months ago, never met another blogger. Look forward to following you for the hop! I love gingerbread, especially in man form. They are especially good dipped in white chocolate.

  2. I’m loving the blog hop! Gingerbread is definitely on my list this year. I may just let my daughter help do cut-outs, but I am with you on rolling dough. Not my favorite!

  3. I deal with the “oh no winter is coming” issue by thinking about all the Christmas and winter treats I want to make too! I definitely want to try gingerbread this year. These look great!

  4. Can these be made with gluten free flour?
    I bake gluten free. I would love to try lots of your recipes, but not sure how they would work with gluten free. i want to make the one recipe for pumpkin cookies with the kiss. I’m not a chocolate and I would make a caramel to put in the center. i would leave the cocoa out of the filling for the one cookie recipe and put two of the above cookies together for a sandwich cookie.
    I love apples and pumpkin. I bake my own pumpkin and make my own applesauce too. Gluten makes me deathly sick.

What do you say?

