Grandma’s Biscuits

My Grandma was a serious cook. She worked on farms and ranches and for a while ran a restaurant. She didn’t cook for fun, but I know she was pleased to see you eat.

This is my proportion version of her biscuits. I multiply them up according to how much flour I think it will take to feed the group I need to feed. (That’s why it’s all easy multiplying.) My Grandma used milk; they always had cows. But I find water easier to come by.

Grandma’s Biscuits

Heat oven to 400F.
Mix together:
2 cups flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 Tbl Baking Powder
1 Tbl sugar

Cut in: 1/2 cube butter (that’s 1/4 cup. And when I say butter, I mean margarine. Use the fat of your choice.)

Mix in 1 3/4 cups water. roll onto floured surface and cut rounds with a glass, a canning ring, or whatever makes you feel like a frontier woman and cuts the size you want.

Place them into a baking pan so that they just touch, and bake till they’re golden on top, maybe 25 minutes. Mm-m. Grandma was famous for her biscuits.

 

What do you say?

